Gemma's Web Page

German Shepherd Dog (medium coat)  : :  Female (spayed)  : :  Adult  : :  Large


More Pics...

Learn more about the German Shepherd Dog.

My Rescue
Login to Remember your Favorite Animals and Breeds!

About Gemma

  • Status: Adopted!
  • Adoption Fee: 500.00
  • Species: Dog
  • Rescue ID: SS705
  • General Color: Black with Tan, Yellow or Fawn
  • Eye Color: Brown
  • Ear Type: Erect
  • Tail Type: Long
  • Current Age: 2 Years 11 Months (best estimate)
  • Microchipped: Yes
  • Fence Required: No
  • Housetrained: Yes
  • Obedience Training Needed: Well Trained
  • Exercise Needs: High
  • Grooming Needs: Moderate
  • Shedding Amount: High
  • Owner Experience Needed: Breed
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

Hello! My Name is Gemma! I came off a reservation where I basically ran free with no rules, structure, boundaries, or socialization! Vets estimate me to be around 2 1/2 years old. After being too much dog, exhibiting a lot of anxiety, I just did not do well in a in home foster environment so SSOMN sent me to the Premier K9 Center of MN! I learned all basic commands of sit, down, come stay, leave it, ok, and off! I also learned more advanced commands such as place, load up, healing nicely by your side while on a leash AND off of a leash! I have a strong off leash recall and I am now completely trained on an Ecollar! I also tolerate grooming very well. I have since been taught doggy social skills and get along with all sizes of dogs and love playing with them! I am also very happy to just receive all of the staff’s attention and ignore the other dogs as well, I just love any and all attention! That being said I get overly excited easily, so staff knows to praise me calmly and be firm when giving me commands too. I am a German shepherd therefore, I am more of a working type of breed where I need that consistent, calm, and firm handler to keep me in check. With that I am a HUGE lover and love to work! I love toys and treats and will play all day long if you let me! When I would go out on field trips to public dog friendly stores I use to have a “Stranger danger” type fear and wanted to protect my handler (as German shepherds naturally do). But I now can go in a very busy store with lots of chaos and can ignore everything without being worried with what other people are doing. I stay focused on my handler, and it is a nice and relaxing activity that we love to do! As long as I am introduced slowly, I warm up to people usually within seconds and love to receive their scratches and rubs! I can’t get enough of my new friends once I meet them! Do you think you are a good fit for me? I am really hoping for a strong leader that can give me the continued structure to keep me thriving and at my best! I would love to be your running buddy, sports dog, or just a dog you look to do anything with! Because of my high energy and need for consistence boundaries I would do best in a home with older children. I would do great in a dog only home or a home with another friend to play with as long as they understand I like to wrestle and play rough at times! We can go explore things all day or I am happy to take some down time and take all of the belly rubs I can get.

More about Gemma

Good with Some Dogs (No female dogs), Not Good with Cats, Good with Older/Considerate Kids Only, Good with Adults, Somewhat vocal, Does Good in the Car, Requires a yard, Leashtrained, Cratetrained, Likes to play with toys, Obedient, Playful, Affectionate, Eager To Please, Intelligent, Even-tempered, Gentle, Goofy

Other Pictures of Gemma (click to see larger version):

Gemma Gemma Gemma Gemma